Wonderland. Chapter 05

Who are YOU? said the Caterpillar.

This was not an encouraging opening for a conversation. Alice replied, rather shyly, I–I hardly know, sir, just at present– at least I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then.

 

I have this lingering sense that I don’t know who I am. The things that can be used to define me change so often, sometimes yearly, monthly, even daily. But then why must we define ourselves in such a stagnant light, are we not all forever learning, being molded by those around us and changing our minds. Do we need to be defined in simple terms communicable by words, he’s a writer, she’s paranoid, they’re in love. These things don’t define more than one moment of our lives, sometimes he regrets writing, she can be daring and occasionally they hate each other. I don’t think we can be defined using words, and trying to do so may only stump our growth.

Leave a Reply

